Texas MBA 2017 (McCOMBS SCHOOL OF BUSINESS-UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS, AUSTIN)

The McCombs Experience

McCombs Admissions

Essay-2

1. The University of Texas at Austin values unique perspectives and cultivates a collaborative environment of distinct individual contributions. It is the first day of orientation. You are meeting your study group, comprised of five of your classmates from various backgrounds. Please introduce yourself to your new team, highlighting what drives you in your personal and professional life.

Select only one communication method that you would like to use for your response:

  • Write an essay (250 words).
  • Share a video introduction (one minute). Please include a link in the text field below. If the video link is password protected, please also enter the login information in the essay text field below. Please do not upload a video file. The upload button is for PDF copies of written essays only.

 

Hi everyone. I am XYZ. I come from the interesting Drilling Industry. I am a graduate in Petroleum Engineering and was working as Deputy Manager for a major Indian private drilling contractor. Observing the cascading effects of the changes in international oil prices on my organization and on drilling industry at large has drawn me towards Energy Finance & led me to observe the past trends of volatile energy prices more closely. To further explore this burning interest in financial aspects of Oil and gas industry I want to transition within Energy Sector and pursue a career in Energy Finance. Although I can talk at length about the drilling industry, let me not bore you with details but in case you are interested in details, then we should catch up later over a cup of coffee.

Apart from work, I am an active sportsperson, so in case any of you like to play Basketball or Lawn Tennis feel free to give me a shout and we would catch up over a quick game. I also love to explore new places so if anyone is interested we can plan the next trip to the city together.

I’m very excited to be here with such incredible people like you all. I look forward for a fun and engaging experience. Feel free to let me know in case you need any help and I would do my best to help you out.

Leave a comment